2. Currency Encyclopedia
  3. South African Rand

ZAR - South African Rand

Get a complete South African Rand overview with further information like the South African Rand symbol, ticker, exchange rates and more.
Get started
⏳ Register for free ($0.00) within minutes
Facts about the South African Rand

The south African rand (ZAR) is the national currency of South Africa. It is issued and monitored by the South African Reserve Bank (SARB). ZAR stands for Zuid-Afrikaanse Rand (in Dutch), which is the place where the country’s main gold deposits are situated. South African rand consists of 100 cents and is represented by the R symbol. Up until the end of the apartheid regime in the 1990s, the majority of ZAR banknotes depicted the important leaders of this notorious regime. However, after political changes, the country issued some banknotes depicting the county’s wildlife and its glorious leader Nelson Mandela.

What does ZAR mean in currency?

ZAR is an abbreviation of the official currency of South Africa called the South African rand. It is shortened as “R” and subdivided into 100 cents. ZAR is issued in denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100, and 200 rand banknotes and 5, 10, 20, and 50 cents coins as well as 1, 2, and 5 R coins.

What is the symbol of the South African Rand?
What Makes the South African Rand Important?
What countries use the South African Rand?
Is ZAR a good investment?
South African Rand Stats
Minor unit
1/100 cents
Minor unit symbol
Bank notes

10, 20, 50, 100, 200

Forex Investing
Get started with NAGA
Discover FX
Trending FX
Discover most popular FX available on NAGA
Get started
⏳ Digital account opening within minutes
South African Rand Exchanges Rates
Need Help? Visit our Help Section

Copyright © 2024 – All rights reserved.

NAGA is a trademark of The NAGA Group AG, a German based FinTech company publicly listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange | WKN: A161NR | ISIN: DE000A161NR7.

The website is owned by The NAGA Group AG and operated by NAGA Capital Ltd which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority Seychelles (FSA) under licence No. SD026. The registered address of CT House, Office 9A, 2nd Floor, Providence, Mahe, Seychelles.
Tel: +248 4373121

The group also includes NAGA Global (CY) Ltd, with registered address at Nikokreontos 2, NICE DREAM, 6th floor, Flat/Office 601, 1066, Nicosia, Cyprus. NAGA Global (CY) Ltd is wholly owned by The NAGA Group AG.

RISK WARNING: Derivatives are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how derivatives work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money. This is not investment advice. Trading with NAGA Trader by following and/or copying or replicating the trades of other traders involves high levels of risks, even when following and/or copying or replicating the Lead Traders. Such risks include the risk that you may be following/copying the trading decisions of possibly inexperienced/unprofessional traders, or traders whose ultimate purpose or intention, or financial status may differ from yours. Before making an investment decision, you should rely on your own assessment of the person making the trading decisions and the terms of all the legal documentation.

Restricted countries: NAGA Capital Ltd does not provide services for the residents of certain countries, such as Afghanistan, Albania, American Samoa, Anguilla, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Congo, The Democratic Republic of the, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guam, Haiti, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Korea, Democratic People's Republic of, Latvia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mali, Malta, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Norway, Palestinian Territory, Occupied, Pitcairn, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan Da Cunha, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom and any other countries where the citizens have British proof of identity (i.e. British Virgin Island, Gibraltar, Isle of Man etc.), United States, U.S. Minor Islands, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Yemen, and Zimbabwe.