EUR - Euro

Get a complete Euro overview with further information like the Euro symbol, ticker, exchange rates and more.
Get started
⏳ Register for free ($0.00) within minutes
Facts about the Euro

Importance of the Euro

Euro (EUR) is the native currency of 19 European Union countries and is used by more than 340 million EU citizens. Thus, EUR is the second most widely used currency in the world. Euro is very important for the EU countries since it provides security from foreign exchange shock, making the global economy less vulnerable and ensuring lower transaction, financial, and foreign exchange costs for international businesses. Moreover, as a global currency, it aims to engage in sectors such as energy, raw material trading, and aircraft manufacturing where most of the transactions are done using USD. Last but not least, the EUR has been linked with more than 60 countries and territories outside the EU.

Introduction of the Euro

The Euro as a native currency was first introduced in 1991 in the Maastricht Treaty as the common unit of exchange of the 12 original member countries of the European Community. The new currency was issued officially on the 1st of January 1999. Initially, the use of EUR was in certain businesses and financial markets and after 2002 the currency started to be used by most of the member states. The EUR is managed by the European Central Bank which is located in Frankfurt, Germany. Euro is not used by all of the European member states but only by 19 of the 27 which are called the “eurozone”.

What does EUR mean in currency?

The EUR is the abbreviation for the Euro which is the native currency of the European Member states that take part in the “eurozone”. It is considered to be the second most traded currency around the globe.

What is the symbol of the Euro?
What Makes the Euro Important?
What countries use Euro?
Is EUR a good investment?
Euro Stats
Minor unit
1/100 = cent
Minor unit symbol
Bank notes

Freq Used: 5 euros, 10 euros, 20 euros, 50 euros, 100 euros Rarely Used: 200 euros, 500 euros

Forex Investing
Get started with NAGA
Discover FX
Trending FX
Discover most popular FX available on NAGA
Get started
⏳ Digital account opening within minutes
Euro Exchanges Rates
Need Help? Visit our Help Section

Copyright © 2024 – All rights reserved.

NAGA is a trademark of The NAGA Group AG, a German based FinTech company publicly listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange | WKN: A161NR | ISIN: DE000A161NR7.

The website is owned by The NAGA Group AG and operated by NAGA Capital Ltd which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority Seychelles (FSA) under licence No. SD026. The registered address of CT House, Office 9A, 2nd Floor, Providence, Mahe, Seychelles.
Tel: +2482574498

The group also includes NAGA Global (CY) Ltd, with registered address at Nikokreontos 2, NICE DREAM, 6th floor, Flat/Office 601, 1066, Nicosia, Cyprus. NAGA Global (CY) Ltd is wholly owned by The NAGA Group AG.

RISK WARNING: Derivatives are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how derivatives work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money. This is not investment advice. Trading with NAGA Trader by following and/or copying or replicating the trades of other traders involves high levels of risks, even when following and/or copying or replicating the Lead Traders. Such risks include the risk that you may be following/copying the trading decisions of possibly inexperienced/unprofessional traders, or traders whose ultimate purpose or intention, or financial status may differ from yours. Before making an investment decision, you should rely on your own assessment of the person making the trading decisions and the terms of all the legal documentation.

Restricted countries: NAGA Capital Ltd does not provide services for the residents of certain countries, such as Afghanistan, Albania, American Samoa, Anguilla, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Congo, The Democratic Republic of the, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guam, Haiti, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Korea, Democratic People's Republic of, Latvia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mali, Malta, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Norway, Palestinian Territory, Occupied, Pitcairn, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan Da Cunha, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom and any other countries where the citizens have British proof of identity (i.e. British Virgin Island, Gibraltar, Isle of Man etc.), United States, U.S. Minor Islands, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Yemen, and Zimbabwe.